Douglas County Commissioners

Douglas County is the state's most populous county, home to over one-fourth of Nebraska's residents. Its county seat is Omaha, the state's largest city. With world-class attractions, nationally known restaurants and a creative culture feeding an ever-growing artistic community, Douglas County is a destination for a wide range of visitors.

Douglas County is governed by a Board of Commissioners; the county is divided into seven districts each offering a unique Omaha experience. See below for more information on Douglas County and what’s available in each Commissioner’s district.

Douglas County quick facts:
  • Population (based on 2010 census): 517,110

  • Established in 1854

  • Named after Stephen Arnold Douglas, a US Senator responsible for creating the Kansas-Nebraska Act. This act made Kansas and Nebraska organized territories.

  • Made up of 6 cities: Bennington, Irvington, Omaha, Ralston, Valley, Waterloo

  • Includes the Village of Boys Town


District 1 – Roger Garcia

District 2 – Jim Cavanaugh

District 3 – Chris Rodgers

District 4 – P.J. Morgan

District 5 – Maureen Boyle

District 6 – Mary Ann Borgeson

District 7 – Mike Friend