Visit Omaha Team

On December 1, 1980, the Douglas County Department of Conventions and Tourism was formed with the goal of promoting tourism and attracting convention business to the area. In 1997, the department grew into the Greater Omaha Convention and Visitors Bureau (GOCVB). The announcement of Omaha's upcoming convention center and arena called for a stronger national presence in the meetings industry. In 2002, the first Interlocal agreement was established between the City of Omaha and Douglas County governments stating that the GOCVB would operate as a department of the City of Omaha. The Interlocal agreement was renewed in 2007 and again in 2013 for a ten year term, ensuring the department would remain a City entity through 2023. Today, Visit Omaha continues its efforts in showcasing Omaha as a destination for leisure, convention, meetings and motor coach visitors. The current team enthusiastically supports the economic growth and development of the entire Omaha metro area. Browse below and get to know the team.

View the Omaha Convention & Visitors Bureau's 2014 Annual Report.  

Staff Directory

Administration

Contact the Omaha Convention & Visitors Bureau, at 402-444-4660 or toll-free at 866-937-6624.

Keith Backsen

Executive Director / President

kbacksen@visitomaha.com

Dean Miller

Vice President of Operations

dmiller@visitomaha.com

Michele Hayes

Visitor Services Manager

mhayes@visitomaha.com

Jodie Smith

Accounting Clerk

jsmith@visitomaha.com

Sales & Services

To contact Sales & Services please call 402-444-4037.

Cathy Keller

Vice President of Sales & Services

ckeller@visitomaha.com

Mark Rath

Director of Sales

mrath@visitomaha.com

Matt Heck

National Sales Manager

mheck@visitomaha.com

Kenzie Coleman

Naional Sales Manager

mcoleman@visitomaha.com

Bill Slovinski

Tourism Sales Manager

bslovinski@visitomaha.com

Sue Chevalier

Research Analyst

schevalier@visitomaha.com

Janelle Armstrong

Director of Convention Services

jarmstrong@visitomaha.com

Erin Brungardt

Convention Services & Housing Manager

ebrungardt@visitomaha.com

Kristin Beglin

National Sales Coordinator

kbeglin@visitomaha.com

Kelsey McGreer

Sales and Marketing Coordinator

kmcgreer@visitomaha.com

Anabella Coenen

Convention Services Coordinator

acoenen@visitomaha.com

Marketing & Public Relations

To contact Marketing & Public Relations, please call 402-444-1763.

Deborah Ward

Vice President of Marketing & Communications

dward@visitomaha.com

Jasmyn Goodwin

Director of Marketing & Content

jgoodwin@visitomaha.com

Tracie McPherson

Director of Communications

tmcpherson@visitomaha.com

Erin O'Brien

Social Media Manager

eobrien@visitomaha.com

Amy Cunningham

Graphic Designer

acunningham@visitomaha.com

Lynn Mace

Marketing Coordinator

lmace@visitomaha.com

The Omaha Visitors Center is staffed with knowledgeable ambassadors ready to assist you with ideas and directions. Two airport information desks are located in each terminal at Eppley Airfield.  

 

Visitor Guide
Request your FREE Visitors Guide and start planning your Omaha Weekend!

Check Room Rates