About Visit Omaha

Mission Statement:

To promote and develop metro Omaha as a dynamic destination to stimulate economic growth.

Our Vision: 

Visit Omaha is recognized as the leading image and tourism marketing organization for the Omaha metropolitan area and as a major contributor to a thriving tourism economy that supports job creation and growth within the convention and tourism infrastructure.

Our Value Proposition: 

We create sustainable demand for the destination through collaborative relationships, broad industry experience, and unprecedented product knowledge.

Key Objectives: 

  • Increase visitor-related economic impact for the Omaha metropolitan area

  • Influence the long-term development of the destination and its brand

  • Deliver a positive customer experience

  • Collaborate and enhance relationships with local organizations and stakeholders

  • Be recognized as an efficient, high-preforming organization

History:

Visit Omaha (a.k.a. Omaha Convention & Visitors Bureau) began operating on December 1, 1980 as the Douglas County Department of Conventions and Tourism. In 1997, the name was changed to the Greater Omaha Convention and Visitors Bureau (GOCVB), but was still operated by Douglas County. In 2002 during the development of the new city-owned convention center, the first Interlocal agreement between Douglas County and the City of Omaha was established to transfer control of the GOCVB to the city and to add the GOCVB’s executive director to the Mayor’s cabinet. The Interlocal agreement was renewed in 2007 and again in 2013 for a ten-year term, ensuring the department would remain a City entity through 2023. In 2016, the name was changed to Visit Omaha, Omaha’s Official Tourism Authority in an effort to simplify and better brand the department.

Visit Omaha continues its efforts in showcasing Omaha as a destination for leisure, convention, meeting, sport and motor coach visitors. The current team enthusiastically supports the economic growth and development of the entire Omaha metro area.

DMAP Certification:

Visit Omaha is certified through the Destination Marketing Accreditation Program (DMAP). The globally recognized DMAP accreditation ensures that Visit Omaha's policies, procedures and practices meet the highest standard in the industry. 

DMAP Seal_color

Staff Directory

Administration

Contact Visit Omaha, at 402-444-4660 or toll-free at 866-937-6624.

Keith Backsen

Executive Director / President

kbacksen@visitomaha.com

Dean Miller

Vice President of Operations

dmiller@visitomaha.com

Michele Hayes

Visitor Services Manager

mhayes@visitomaha.com

Jodie Smith

Accounting Clerk

jsmith@visitomaha.com

Cindy Brickey

Executive Assistant

402-444-4631

cbrickey@visitomaha.com

Sales & Services

To contact Sales & Services please call 402-444-4037.

Cathy Keller

Vice President of Sales & Services

ckeller@visitomaha.com

Mark Rath, CSEE

Director of Sales

mrath@visitomaha.com

Matt Heck

National Sales Manager

mheck@visitomaha.com

Mattie Scheeter

National Sales Manager

402-444-4611

mscheeter@visitomaha.com

Kenzie Coleman

National Sales Manager

mcoleman@visitomaha.com

Bill Slovinski

Tourism Sales Manager

bslovinski@visitomaha.com

Sue Chevalier

Research Analyst

schevalier@visitomaha.com

Janelle Armstrong

Director of Convention Services

jarmstrong@visitomaha.com

Erin Brungardt

Convention Services & Housing Manager

ebrungardt@visitomaha.com

Kristin Beglin

National Sales Coordinator

kbeglin@visitomaha.com

Kelsey McGreer

Sales and Marketing Coordinator

kmcgreer@visitomaha.com

Anabella Coenen

Convention Services Coordinator

acoenen@visitomaha.com

Marketing & Public Relations

To contact Marketing & Public Relations, please call 402-444-1763.

Deborah Ward

Vice President of Marketing & Communications

dward@visitomaha.com

Jasmyn Goodwin

Director of Marketing & Content

jgoodwin@visitomaha.com

Tracie McPherson

Director of Communications

tmcpherson@visitomaha.com

Erin O'Brien

Social Media Manager

eobrien@visitomaha.com

Amy Cunningham

Graphic Designer

acunningham@visitomaha.com

Lynn Mace

Marketing Coordinator

lmace@visitomaha.com

The Omaha Visitors Center is staffed with knowledgeable ambassadors ready to assist you with ideas and directions. Two airport information desks are located in each terminal at Eppley Airfield.  

 

Visitor Guide
Request your FREE Visitors Guide and start planning your Omaha Weekend!

Check Room Rates